Why Should I like your Facebook Page?

It’s always great to be noticed right?! Being graduated for almost a year…deep breath… Thats crazy to think about! But since graduation in my field of passion aka Graphic Design, I have worked my way up the career ladder!

Presently an Adult, Always a kid

Quick synopsis goes as followed: January 2011 I got a sweet paid Internship at OnlyWebsites doing web design! Loved it and it showed in my work. Moving from Intern to Junior Designer to finally the status of the Big Dogs Head Art Director. Being in charge of all the designs that came in and out of this national Web design and SEO company, I instantly felt confidence grow in my talents and my love for online art. I then was offered another job at a Social Media Design company Plaid Video Marketing. (Gag me on the old website, New website is coming soon if I have anything to do with it!) They seduced me and it worked. Taking my experience to a new level of Social Media, I have learned so much and can’t wait to learn more. So here I am, Senior Designer and wanting to do more with my life. Is there a next step? I Submit that there is! But what? FREELANCE is something that I am craving right now!  I will try and put myself out there more.

Ok, So the reason why I am writing this is because one of my little simple designs got some random Recognition! Which is ALWAYS obliged! I did a flyer for Foothill Village Shopping Center directing them to join their Facebook page. It was picked up by a Professional Social Media Guru and Business Man and was blogged about to my likeness!

Here is the Blog >>>>>>>>>>

waldowsocial.com/why-should-i-like-your-facebook-page/

Why should I like your Facebook page? Really. It’s a serious question. What’s in it for me?

I realize it’s a simple click and BOOM, I like you. In some cases, I have to do a bit more work and type in a URL or do a search (that’s another blog post). Either way, the act of liking a company on Facebook falls on the “easy” end of the spectrum.

As I was sucking down my 2nd cup of coffee at my local Starbucks the other day, I saw this flyer:

Before I break down this flyer, please note that Foothill Village is the shopping/business center near my house. Starbucks is one of the businesses within Foothill Village.

Why This Flyer Worked (for me)

In case you haven’t guessed by now, I love this flyer. Why? I’m glad you asked. 4 reasons:

1. It includes a nice picture depicting community. Similar to a blog post, something visual is important. It caught my eye. I immediately smiled and thought about my family, about community. I’m guessing that’s the emotion they were going for.

2. It has a clear call to action – “Join the Foothill Village Facebook Community Today!” Too often I see a crazy-long call to action – one that’s unclear and confusing. This one is simple and straightforward. I know exactly what they want me to do.

3. It tells me, briefly, what’s in it for me, “Free Gifts & Discounts.” As mentioned above, this is a big one. I need a reason to take that extra step. Just like we preach in email marketing, set some expectations. Sure, they could have expanded on the types of gifts and discounts they would provide, but this was enough (for me) to like them.

4. It includes the full URL to their Facebook page. We often assume that by dropping the Facebook icon on marketing collateral (snail mail, flyers, television ads, email marketing campaigns, etc) people know instinctively what to do. Don’t make that assumption! Don’t make me work for it. Keep it simple. Spell it out.

5 comments
  1. thatgirlwhit said:

    LOOK AT YOU!!! …career woman. i’m so proud! you. are. AMAZING! and you can do anything. and probably will.

    • No you are amazing and you can do anything!!! Shout out ot Career woman! you know your a photographer and I love modeling in front of the camera! I want you to do pictures of me!!!! I love photography and have so many ideas of how to model in them! I will pay you!

      • thatgirlwhit said:

        this is a fantastic idea. our skillz combined! utah, here i come!!

  2. Chelsea! We (virtually) meet again. I was very happy to showcase your flyer. As it turns out, I’m typing this comment from the very same Starbucks in Foothill Village where I first saw your flyer!

    I’m thrilled that this recognition made your day.

    See you around the 801…

Leave a Reply

